Printer friendly page

Town of Webster

Annual Meeting

April 12, 2005


The Annual Meeting of the Town of Webster was held on April 12, 2005, at 8 p.m. at the Town Hall.  There were 40 people in attendance.  Chair Joe Swanson called the meeting to order.  Clerk Ole Yttri read the minutes of the last Annual Meeting.  Art Thelen made a motion to accept the minutes as read, and Mark Katz seconded.  Carried.


The four annual resolutions for operation of Town financial business by the Town Board were reviewed.  They are:


Resolution I.  Be it resolved by the town meeting that we authorize the town board to borrow money necessary to carry on town business until tax roll is collected.


Resolution II.  Be it resolved by the town meeting that we authorize the town clerk to place upon the tax roll any money due to the town that can be legally assessed, and the town treasurer be instructed to collect the accounts according to law.


Resolution III.  Be it resolved by the town meeting that we authorize the town board to borrow money on short-term credit to carry on the present seal-coating program.


Resolution IV.  Be it resolved by the town meeting that the town board be authorized to levy the amount necessary for bridges.


Duane Parr made a motion to accept the four resolutions, seconded by Kermit Parker.  Carried.


The Financial Report was approved after discussion and questions were answered.

Procedures for the Unified Dwelling Code (UDC) were discussed. This code took effect January 1, 2005.


Creation of 5-person board was discussed Advantages listed were: 

A motion was made by William Neil to adopt a five-person board. Seconded by Mary Widner. Results of the vote were Yes—12 and No—21.  Motion defeated.


The implementation date of 2009 for comprehensive planning was discussed.


The Town Web Page was described and summarized. Clerk Yttri reminded those in attendance that he would be happy to honor requests to be placed on an email list for agendas and meeting notices.


Posting places for meetings are to continue to be Avalanche Store, La Farge State Bank, and Webster Town Hall.

Currently, meeting notices are placed only in the Episcope. A motion to place notices in the Episcope and in the Broadcaster was made by Mary Widner and seconded by Jack Lee.  Results of the vote were:  Yes—23 and No—2.  Motion carried.


On a motion by Bud Nemec and seconded by Kermit Parker, the date for the 2006 Annual Meeting was set for April 11, 2006 at 8:00 p.m. Motion carried.


Joe Swanson, Bud Nemec, and Eda June Widner were recognized for their many years of service to the Town of Webster.


Bud Nemec moved to adjourn, seconded by Jack Lee and meeting was adjourned.




Submitted by:___________________________________

                     Ole A. Yttri, Town of Webster Clerk





Town Logo  Town Hall
E10614 State Road 82
La Farge, WI 54639
Phone: (608) 625-4568

Send Us an Email
Mailing Address
Town of Webster
E10978 State Road 82
La Farge, WI 54639